127 Westbury Road, Westbury-on-Trym ,Bristol BS9 3AP
349 Bath Road, Arnos Vale, Bristol BS4 3EW
12 Wellsway, Bath BA2 2AA
On our website, your search can be narrowed down to just vegan friendly wines using the brown filter bar on the left hand side of the screen. Right at the bottom of this bar, under ‘features’, you can select ‘Vegan’. Your search will only display vegan friendly wines.
Wines suitable for vegans are marked with a dark green ‘V’, whereas wines suitable for vegetarians are marked with a light green ‘V’. In store, it is indicated on the description whether the wines are suitable for vegans or vegetarians. Majestic Wine
A quick glance at the website, and you can also see that they have a decent selection of vegan beers too. These include Peroni, Sharps Doom Bar, Corona, Fullers London Pride, Samuel Adams Boston Lager, Paulaner Original, Paulaner Bavarian Wheat Beer, Paulaner Oktoberfestbier, Brooklyn Lager, Aspall Draught Suffolk Cyder, Anchor Steam, Birra Moretti, Orchard Pig Reveller, Black Sheep Ale, St Austell Tribute, Spitfire, to name a few. A great choice for vegan beer and wine for Bristol Vegans in Bristol. VB
Is your booze vegan?
It might seem weird at first, but your favourite drink might have more than just alcohol in it.
Brewmasters, winemakers, and distillers may include animal ingredients in their products directly, or they might use them in the processing and filtration. When making the product, dairy, honey, and other things (including, in one case, a whole chicken dropped in the tank) are ingredients in the final recipe.
When filtering the drinks prior to bottling, companies can use things like isinglass (from fish bladder,) gelatin, egg whites, and sea shells, among other things. These products grab onto the impurities and make it easier to catch them in the filters, though there are many animal-free alternatives in use.
These ingredients don’t usually show up on the label, so the only way to find out is to ask.