1) Marketing to customers seeking vegan food
If you can already offer vegan options, let your potential customers know!
# Preferably this will be by putting a vegan options on the menu and labelling it.
# Specifying which dishes are also available in a vegan version is another approach, if some existing dishes can easily be modified to make them suitable for vegans on request.
# Or at the very least, put a mention on the menu somewhere that vegan options are available – this is at least an indication that you are happy to cater for vegan customers, even if they don’t know what they’ll be getting.
# In addition, a mention on your website will also help to catch potential customers who are searching the internet for restaurants which offer vegan food.
Don’t wait until customers come to you and ask – they probably won’t!
Saying “we’ll do something vegan if someone asks” is not the best way of attracting vegan customers or groups including vegans.
If there’s nothing vegan or that at least looks like it might be vegan-friendly on the menu, the average customer won’t approach you to ask for a vegan meal and wouldn’t assume they would be entitled to (unless they’ve been invited along by non-vegans and don’t have a choice).
It’s much simpler for potential customers to choose somewhere else that appears more likely to cater for them.
2) Marketing vegan-suitable food in a way that is accessible to all customers
Vegan food is suitable for practially all customers, and tasty vegan options will appeal to most people in its own right.
However, promoting a dish as VEGAN in big letters, or making the fact that it’s vegan more prominent than the description of the dish itself, can sometimes be a barrier for customers who aren’t specifically seeking vegan food. Often it’s because they don’t identify with the label ‘vegan’ and feel that a specifically vegan dish isn’t ‘for them’.
Fortunately, this situation is easy to avoid once you’re aware of it. Make sure your labelling is present, but keep it subtle.
For instance, don’t call a dish “Vegan Cake” or “Vegan Lasagne”. Call it “Chocolate Fudge Cake” or “Butternut Squash, Roasted Red Pepper and Spinach Lasagne” and put in small writing next to it, ‘(vg)’ or ‘(vo)’ or ‘vegan’, ‘egg-free and dairy-free’ with an approriate key at the bottom of the menu. (‘vg’ often refers to ‘vegan’, ‘vo’ to ‘vegan option/version available’. The vegans will spot it, the non-vegans won’t.
This is taken from the Vegan Society guide to vegan living, & tweaked.